Department Profile

The Higher Education is one of the most important sectors of the development among the social sectors. The Department of Higher Education is charged with the responsibility to monitor and regulate the dissemination of Higher Education above 10+2 level in the UT by extending facilities for opening of colleges and Universities. At present there are two State Universities, three private universities and two Cluster Universities Srinagar/Jammu in the UT of J&K besides two Central Universities. There are 142 Government Degree Colleges. In addition to this one each Engineering College at Jammu and Kashmir and Five Private Engineering Colleges are functioning in the UT of J&K.